Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Welcome to the CollectiveAccess support forum! Here the developers and community answer questions related to use of the software. Please include the following information in every new issue posted here:

  1. Version of the software that is used, along with browser and version

  2. If the issue pertains to Providence, Pawtucket or both

  3. What steps you’ve taken to try to resolve the issue

  4. Screenshots demonstrating the issue

  5. The relevant sections of your installation profile or configuration including the codes and settings defined for your local elements.


If your question pertains to data import or export, please also include:

  1. Data sample

  2. Your mapping


Answers may be delayed for posts that do not include sufficient information.

Is it possible to batch-edit the user-access settings (record-level)? [Providence 1.6.2]

edited December 7 in Troubleshooting
Hi all,

in our installation we rely a lot on different record-level access settings since we have multiple users working on their respective material and we want to ensure only certain collections and objects are editable by certain users / groups.

So, naturally we would like to batch-edit their data sometimes to modify access of some set of objects to certain users / groups. So far I didn't find this option anywhere. Is it possible at all? Perhaps with some tweaking of the batch-edit interface?

We are running providence 1.6.2

edit: So far we managed to work around this issue by letting the access-settings on objects be inherited from collections. But this yields the problem that if the relationship between an object and a collection is removed, it's possible that a user loses access to an object which was editable before (due to inheritance from an editable collection). Then the user could not re-connect it to other collections anymore.

Cheers,
Stefan

Comments

  • Hi Stefan,

    Unfortunately, there is no way to batch edit user role settings.  Groups were designed with this use case in mind.  Since access permissions are additive, you could create a new group with access to a single collection (or whatever the needed change is) and add the appropriate users to that group, who will receive those permissions in addition to any they already have.  When access is no longer needed, simply remove the setting or remove users from the group.
  • Hi Sophie,

    thank you for your quick clarification. We will try then to establish a workflow that respects your suggestion.

    Cheers!
Sign In or Register to comment.